Backlog Blitz: May 2017

img_3203May was a pretty good month; I celebrated my birthday, I bought absolutely no games (despite Sony putting on more great sales) and I got actually some real sit down and game time towards the end of the month. However the preceding 4 weeks of May were balls to the wall busy and I actually hard an immensely difficult time doing anything gaming related (including writing blog posts).

Summer is coming though; that means that GCSEs and the real graft of teaching is almost behind me for 8 weeks and it should also mean that I get some legitimate gaming time. I expect to see a number of titles get deleted from my Backlog over July and August – in fact the success of this challenge depends on it!Regular readers know exactly what’s going on here but for the benefit of new readers, here is a recap of the rules for my backlog blitz:

•I must complete 52 games in 2017

•The games can be ones that I have previously started or have previously completed and they can be on any platform

•Episodic games count as one game per episode

•Lengthy DLC (ie Blood and Wine) count as a game

•Every time I complete a game I give myself a score of +1

•Every time I buy a game I give myself a score of -2

•By the end of the year I must finish with a positive score or I have failed in the Backlog Blitz!

Year Score (So Far) = -16

May 2017

Games Bought: None

Games Completed: Resident Evil 6, and Olli Olli

I can’t believe I made it through May without purchasing a single game! Usually I treat myself to an early birthday present of a cheap game (or two) this year; despite Sony’s best efforts with another good sale (seriously Sony just stop it for a month) I held out and kept my wallet in my pocket. It wasn’t easy.

On top of this I actually completed two games as well as working my way through Ratchet & Clank on the VITA too; I’m almost at the final boss so I am chipping away at the backlog rightly.

Next on my list is Rise of the Tomb Raider – a game I bought way back in January because it was next to nothing on a Sony sale (damn you Sony) and maybe even finish off Resident Evil VII – a game that I got a bit into, loved it, but ran out of time playing through it due to the birth of my daughter. Can’t wait to get the old PSVR headset on and blast my way through it though.

It’s nearly the half way mark on my challenge and to be honest I am nowhere near where I need to be in order to complete it. That doesn’t mean I am giving up though; quite the opposite in fact, I am more determined than ever to finish this year with a positive score and prove that you can complete more games than you buy!

Roll on summer holidays and the opportunity to hammer some games to completion!

Year Score: -14

 

Join in the conversation...

