Games With Gold June 2017

Another month has gone by and yet again I missed the news completely (seriously, when does Major Nelson announce this – answers in the comment section please!).

Here is the GWG update for June 2017!From June 1st-15th you’ll be getting Speedrunners on Xbox One which is a fun but shallow game that is excellent in local multiplayer. It is a 2D side scrolling game in which the player must complete the quickest lap as possible – of course there are three other heroes on-screen at the same time with the same objective. I bought this on steam back in the day and it is not at all bad, in facts it’s brilliant fun locally and online (even though it loses some of its edge online). Well worth the download.

Also available on Xbox One is Phantom Dust DLC. In case you missed it, Phantom Dust was released in May for free. So the fact that Microsoft have made a DLC pack and are giving it away for free is a great gesture. If you are enjoying the base game; then this is a resource pack that will only heighten that enjoyment.

360 owners and those who are fans of Backwards compatibility will receive Assassins Creed 3: Is, for my money, the worst of the mainline AC games. In saying that it is still incredibly well-made and worth playing – there is a great series of systems that are hiding underneath a bloated and unnecessary story as well as a main character that has absolutely zero appeal to human beings of any description. If you manage to get through to the end, the last 2 hours are absolutely brilliant and only serve to remind you that Ubisoft can make tight narratives that engage and engross but they somehow lost their way for the preceding 10. It may sound like I hate this game – and I kinda do, but I can recognise why it has its fans.

From July 16th – 31st; Watch_Dogs will be made available for Xbox One owners. This is one of my favourite games from earlier in this generation (check out my review). You are Aiden Pearce, and you are on a revenge mission – through hacking you will get to the bottom of a city-wide conspiracy that led to the murder of your Niece.Sure the game gets pilloried from everyone because it’s cool to do so, but this is an excellent game that is well worth your time investment. Plus the DLC is good too! Download it. You won’t regret it.

While on 360 and Backwards Compatibility you will be getting Dragon Age Origins. While this is a well-regarded role-playing game that did not interest me in the slightest – I found it plodding and boring. But I know I am not its target audience so you may enjoy it I guess…

This is a good month from the boys in green! Keep it up!

What will you be getting from this list? Tell me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Games With Gold June 2017

Join in the conversation...