Horizon Zero Dawn First Impressions

…The Land After Time

Horizon.jpg

Boy oh boy, this is going to be a doosey! No worries though loyal readers, this will be spoiler free of my first 11 hours within the game.So, as you all know I got the game late, had to wait until last Saturday for the game to arrive! As the saying goes though, good things come to those who wait. That is certainly the case with Horizon Zero Dawn!

It all didn’t start so swimmingly however. Instantly I threw the disc into my PS4 and it took a good, 20 minutes for it to install. This is not normal behaviour for my PS4. I thought maybe my disc reader was wearing out (launch model PS4) but I tried a couple of games after and they installed as quickly as they used too. No matter, it gave me time to make a cup of tea and get ready to tackle robo dinos!

Once you choice your language options you are thrown straight into the opening cinematic. I was playing with headphones turned nearly all the way up and from the sounds to the visuals I was awe struck. Seriously, it took my breath away. This game is absolutely beautiful and the sound design is second to none!

Once you get past the opening, tutorial sections the world is free for you to explore at your own pace. You can blast through the main story if you wish – completley ignoring everything else that Guerilla has crafted in the world. Or, you can choose to be like me, and allow yourself to get lost in the world – going off on random tangents through dense forests, into openings in the mountains and tackling various side missions.

The choice is yours! I have played 11 hours so far and have barely reached the first “major” city. I went back and watched a streamer play it and they reached the same point within 3 to 3 and half hours. It is completely up to you. Just a word of warning….

Avoid all spoilers, avoid everything you possibly can about this game – you deserve to go into this completely blind. It is designed to have you be amazed at what you find and what you experience. It is a truly unique game and as such I haven’t been this engrossed in a title since The Last Of Us. You need to play this game!

One thought on “Horizon Zero Dawn First Impressions

Join in the conversation...

