Backlog Blitz: Jan and Feb Update

BacklogOver a year ago I wrote about how my backlog was getting out of control; and since then I’ve seen my backlog of games do nothing but grow longer and longer.

Even when I have the best intentions of “getting stuck into this” and “I’ll definitely play that this week” it continues to taunt me as it my steam library stretches beyond the reaches of my monitors.

I wish this was merely the case on PC but the sad fact is that it has spread to every console I own too! My PS4 HDD is not only stuffed full of games, but there are countless others who have been relegated to “my library”. I have 3 16GB 3DS SD cards heaving with games I’ve bought and never played, my VITA has become a graveyard for abandoned playthroughs.

If I don’t act soon; my hobby will crush me. I MUST play these games! Motivation is what is required!

One day (actually January 1st) I was browsing NeoGAF and I saw it; salvation in the form of a thread, ’52 games, 1 year’ was its title and as I read it I realised that this was no coincidence…

…I had been saved.

So what is that? Well it is a simple challenge that encourages the participant to get through the dreaded Backlog. You have one calendar year to complete (at least) 52 games! It’s brilliantly simple although I needed more; so I modified the rules somewhat and here they are;

• I must complete 52 games in 2017

• The games can be ones that I have previously started or have previously completed and they can be on any platform

• Episodic games count as one game per episode

• Lengthy DLC (ie Blood and Wine) count as a game

• Every time I complete a game I give myself a score of +1

• Every time I buy a game I give myself a score of -2

• By the end of the year I must finish with a positive score or I have failed in the Backlog Blitz!

January 2017

Games completed: Until Dawn (15/01)

Games bought: Resident Evil VII, Resident Evil 4/5/6 HD Collection

until-dawnDuring January I actually took my new found motivation to heart; I began the month by playing Until Dawn for the first time and I had a blast; it was excellent. When MrsLuvva and I had our second child though I began charging all my handhelds up in order to start tackling those games that I had started but never finished; it turns out however, that my handheld gaming habits revolve around RPGs, Indie games I haven’t started or games with no defined “end”. This mean that, while I played a ton of games, I ended the month with only Until Dawn completed – and worse yet I had bought three new games meaning my score was definitely in the minus.

I did start Resident Evil 6 and have been playing through Leon’s campaign via remote play – the technology is excellent but the game is bloated with three 8 hour campaigns. January was not an auspicious start to the year at all.

Overall score: -7

February 2017

Games completed: Actual Sunlight (04/02) & Azkend 2 (06/02)

Games bought: None

azkend-2-the-world-beneath-ps-vita-ps4-20160503-004February was a better month for game completion; which is weird because my gaming time was much tighter – with two children under two and a new full-time job to manage.

Perhaps it was because the games I played this month were very short experiences (especially Actual Sunlight which I logged 2 hours over two playthroughs) that allowed me to beat them. In the end though it doesn’t matter at all – two games have been beaten and none have been bought, which means that I am creeping back slowly to positive figures for the year. I am, however very much behind schedule and need to start planning the games I will beat…

actual sunlight.png…Resident Evil 6 is proving to be a terrible choice of game to defeat – while I have beaten Leon’s campaign, it was long (7 hours) and I still have two to play though! Jake’s campaign is the definition of bang average though and I’m not sure if I’m having fun playing through it – but I’ve come this far, RE6 will make my overall score creep back up towards positive.

I have also hacked the hell out of my PSP and have now loaded some PSOne, Mega Drive, SNES and GBA games onto it – so I do expect some of those to help boost my score back to the positive! Fingers crossed!

Overall score: -5

Have you tried a challenge like this or are you doing this one?

Tell me in the comments/twitter/facebook about your experiences with it, both negative and positive

 

2 thoughts on “Backlog Blitz: Jan and Feb Update

Join in the conversation...

