I’m Sorry, How Much?

…nah, you’re alright!

BF1.jpg

I am a bit partial to a bit of first person shooter action – late night binges on ‘Call of Duty : Modern Warfare 2’ and have a full group for ‘Battlefield Bad Company’, I like to think I have done my best to support the genre. However, there is some major shenanigans going on right now and it’s doing my head in!

As you guys know from last weeks post I am far from totally sold on ‘Titanfall 2’, it is growing on me more and more but I had ear marked ‘Battlefield 1’ as a possible replacement purchase to give me my fill of FPS action throughout the year (alongside ‘Overwatch’). I am sad to report that this will not be happening and I am even tempted to just ignore the beta.

You see, I know loads of people will do it so at the end of the day this is probably a frivolous venture but I can not and will not support this type of practices within the industry. Where do DICE get off charging £40 for a season pass?? £40?! Is this where we are in this industry now? Charging the same price as the game for DLC? People will say “Oh but DICE have a great track record of DLC” I really don’t care! There is no arguing that they are the masters of DLC packs but the biggest problem is they divide the community so much – the DLC becomes irrelevant after a couple of months because people literally abandon them to play with the vanilla player base!

It’s not just a money thing its what it says about that company. They are happy to hinder the player base enjoyment of the game in order to just rinse their fans as much as possible! It isn’t an EA call because ‘Titanfall 2’ map DLC will all be FREE. So this is on DICE.
Why can’t they just adopt the Respawn Entertainment or Blizzard approach? Give all of your fanbase options to fund your company as they see fit? Blizzard have loot boxes, I am sure Titanfall 2 will have something similar – and DICE already have those crates they sell too? This isn’t exclusive to DICE neither as Activision rinse the COD fan base yearly!

As a result of this crappy practice, I will be voting with my wallet. Titanfall will get my purchase just to tell these companies that I am not ok with this anymore. It’s time to start fracturing player bases and hindering peoples enjoyment of these types of games.

2 thoughts on “I’m Sorry, How Much?

Join in the conversation...

