Blogger Recognition Award!

bra-readjusted

First and foremost I want to extend and heartfelt thank you to Vahrkalla for nominating me for this award.

*cue Oscar tears*

It genuinely means a lot to me that people not only read my gaming drivel, but enjoy it too! Please check out Vahrkalla’s blog if you haven’t already (he is a regular fixture in my Luv-In posts) because it will make you laugh, think and appreciate all things gaming! It’s just a great blog!

So there are rules to this whole thing and here they are:

  • Thank the blogger that nominated you.
  • Attach the award to the post.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers.
  • Select 5 other bloggers you want to give the award to.

Blog beginnings

I suppose this was something I have wanted to do for a very long time but lacked the courage to actually do it! It wasn’t the fear of receiving negative feedback, just the fear of putting myself out there for the world to see (sometimes I still wonder if a post is a good idea or not and put it off).

The idea for a blog stayed with me for a long time, but it wasn’t until I was put out of work for 2 months that it actually came to exist. That was a boring time in my life, I had actually grown bored of playing games all day, everyday and found myself wanting more – so I sat down one evening, composed 4 or 5 articles and started making this blog a reality.

I put up my first post April 21st 2014 and I haven’t looked back – although some things have changed…

Advice for the newbies

Do NOT be afraid to evolve your style – When I started this blog I was inspired by the style of Mr Biffo and Digitiser (the old Teletext gaming magazine) and really wanted to create a space in the world where I could dump my gaming comedy.

As it transpired, I’m actually not that funny! (seriously, read those early posts – they are shit)

Every post felt like it was forced and to be honest, it was taking far too long to compose a post (we’re talking full afternoons). So I toned it down gently and started creating posts that are far more natural and more “me”.

In the two plus years I have been blogging, my style has changed immeasurably but it has always struck a chord or two with my audience and while it is no competitor for IGN – I’m more than happy with the relationships and community I have on these pages.

Don’t stress the numbers –  While I’m not going to lie here – having people read your posts is great; it is kind of the point to this whole blog thing – stressing over numbers is not cool!

At the beginning I worried about people reading my stuff; well I actually got worried about people NOT reading it. I quickly became disheartened and thought about giving up altogether (after a few months of less that 100 views) but I thought;

“y’know what? This is meant to be fun. Screw the numbers, lets just create stuff and if people read it then awesome!” 

It was this moment that I started to genuinely enjoy my blog and after a while people started reading. To quote Costner, if you write it, they will come. Just don’t stress over the numbers or convert them into your own self-worth.

My Noms

Mr Panda – because he is a damn good writer!

Izlain – because he gives loads back to the community and is a hella nice dude!

Murf – again I really enjoy his posts and he is a top bloke!

The Ancient Gaming Noob – see above

Karl Wellar – I love his unique and articulate style that is infused with a sharp sense of humour!

4 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award!

  1. Congratulations on the award Luvva! Well-deserved! I enjoyed reading your blog beginnings. You also give very good advice, especially regarding numbers! I think that’s some of the most important advice anyone can give for people putting their stuff out on the Internet. I love your attitude of just having fun while writing and not worrying about the numbers. As you say (or as Costner says), if you write it, they will come. Excellent stuff.

    Thank you so much for the nomination! I’m so flattered by your kind words. It truly means a lot to me, especially coming from you! I will be sure to thank you again when I write up my post!

    Like

Join in the conversation...

