World of … Consoles?

…What?

WoW

This is going to sound crazy, I accept this – trust me I do! But I can’t help but feel that one of the biggest E3 announcements this year (for me anyway) will be….World of Warcraft coming to consoles.What? I hear you say? Surely this is just the ramblings of a mad man? Perhaps you are right (well, partially!) but I do have my reasons, so why don’t I give you the top 3?

Reason number one : from all reports the game has been “simplified”. Now, I played World of Warcraft from launch up until and including Cataclysm. After this I just quit, 7 years in the world of Azeroth was just enough for me (plus all my friends stopped playing so my hand was forced!) So my train of thought on this is – if you don’t need a bazillion action bars anymore…could they do it with a couple like FFXIV: A Realm Reborn does?

Reason number dos : The graphics still haven’t received a major upgrade. This may not seem like a biggy to most people, after all the game is nearly 12 years old now! But do not forget that this is Blizzard and Blizzard don’t half ass anything, especially not their flag ship MMO. Could a migration to consoles have always been on the back of their minds?

Reason number trois : This is probably the biggest reason I could possibly think off and to be perfectly honest it kind of hurts me a bit on the inside : decline in subscriptions. The significant drop in WoW subscriptions is no surprise to anyone – it has been on the decline for a couple of years now. In fact, in August last year it lost 44% of its subscriber base bringing it down to 5.6 million active users. If they did make the migration to console it could be the injection of new players and old alike to inject new life into the game once more.

So, now that I have listed my reasons I have come to the following conclusion : I am absolutely losing my mind but hey – wouldn’t WoW on console be freaking awesome?

So, do you think we will ever see WoW on consoles?

Would you play it?

LFG Molten Core! No newbs!

Let us know in the comments!


		
2 thoughts on “World of … Consoles?

Join in the conversation...

