Wanting Games To Fail

…some men just want to watch the world burn.

alfred

This week, I have been getting pretty hyped for the release of the beta for Gearbox’s new game “Battleborn”. However, online it has been getting A LOT of backlash before it even commenced, the reason? Gearbox.

Or more to the point, Randy Pitchford. It seems that a lot of the gaming world still can’t quite seem to forgive him for “Aliens : Colonial Marines” or “Duke Nukem Forever.” Personally, I quite enjoyed Aliens. Sure it wasn’t perfect but I just wanted a game where I blew Aliens to pieces and that is exactly what it gave me.

A lot of the hate derived from that now infamous E3 reveal trailer. The final game didn’t look like that. I am not sure if it was a compromise in design to get it running to the best of it’s ability on the PS3 and Xbox 360 without creating too much if a gap in graphical fidelity to the PC version – or if Gearbox just over shot what they could actually accomplish. Either way, it had no bearing on the game play in my opinion so I am happy enough for it.

Duke Nukem on the other hand, oh boy! That game was pure dross and should have never saw the light of day to be honest with you. However, can all the blame be laid at Gearbox door? That game was in hiatus for many many years and was passed around studio to studio like a proverbial hot potato. Maybe that was too blame. Although Gearbox should have just cut their loses and binned it permanently.

I am not sure if any of this means that people on the internet should be foaming at the mouth baying for blood and almost quite literally praying that this game fails. Why would any gamer want any game to fail? I am not a big fan of Final Fantasy but I am not sitting in my house at the PC typing on gaming forums “OMG! I HOPE THIS GAME BURNS IN ETERNAL FIRE AND GETS BURIED NEXT TO ET IN THE DESERT!” I just ignore it and move on with my life. If a game can bring anyone joy then who am I to wish that on the game they enjoy? It is all just a bit odd to me!

Gearbox has giving me some of my favourite games, and if Battleborn can deliver at least 10% of the enjoyment in that, that I got from Borderlands…well, it will be money very well spent!

Do you find this practice a bit odd?

Would you join in the hate?

Let us know in the comments!

Join in the conversation...

