Backlog Blitz: Uncharted 2 Among Thieves Quick Review

….among greatness

Uncharted-2

Nearly two weeks in the challenge and the game completions are coming thick and fast! This time around, we finished up Uncharted 2 : Among Thieves. One more to go then the Uncharted Collection is off the list completely!

As a lover of the series, it actually pains me to say this but…I can’t bloody wait! I thought Uncharted 1 was painfully hard at times! GOOD LORD! Uncharted 2 has you go through so many death pits where your only option is hide behind a wall and hope for the best. The main issue with that was ammo, you run out of ammo A LOT!

My god does this happen all the time!

My main gripe with the game though is the final boss fight, with that piece of crap Lazaravic. My god this has to be one of the WORST boss battles of all time! For reference, I am playing these games on hard mode (although, after my experiences with 1 & 2, I may rethink that for 3!) and it is painfully annoying. Not even that difficult, just bloody cheap and ultimately a frustrating experience!

I can consistently get him down to the final bit of health, then it happens. He throws 5 (5!) grenades at once RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU! And if you time that wrong, well guess what? Tough luck! You are already dead! I had this happen to me 3 times on stream before I threw my hands up and went – you know what? I don’t need this in my life right now! So I finished it off stream.

Don’t get me wrong they are still great games, ‘Among Thieves’ is a fantastically well paced game, with a great story and some amazing set-pieces, but the difficulties in these games shouldn’t be labeled as such. It should have ratings for how god damn cheap the game will become!

8/10.

One thought on “Backlog Blitz: Uncharted 2 Among Thieves Quick Review

  1. Uncharted 1 is the hardest of all the games. If you managed to complete it on Hard, then you should have no problem with Hard mode on UC2 and UC3.

    I didn’t really have a problem with the final boss of UC2, so long as you were constantly mobile and darting in and out of cover you should be ok. I found it to be better designed than UC1’s idiotic final boss: he could one-shot one-kill Nate using a SHOTGUN from across the ship.

    Be warned, UC3’s quality was met with mixed reception from fans. Play it with an open mind and see if you like it.

    Like

Join in the conversation...

