Are Gamers Pack Animals?

…and hungry like the wolf?

Wolf

Before I start, can I just say that this is in no way a generalisation of everybody who plays video games – I am referring to certain places on the internet which I will not be naming.

Ok, so now that the disclaimer is out-of-the-way, let’s get right into it! Does it seem to anyone else, that when a game does not meet expectations of the people who were hyped for it, our fellow gamers are the first ones to get the first dig in? Take Tony Hawk Pro Skater 5 recent debacle. Sure, the game isn’t a GOTY contender, it probably won’t even be a GOTM contender! But in my honest opinion, there is a lot of fun to be had in that game – which I have been!

Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying it’s amazing or without its flaws, because it has flaws by the bucket load! I just don’t think the consumer comments are all what they seem. You only have to go onto a few large gaming message boards around the internet to see how many people are shitting on this game from a great height – without even playing it!

Now, sure everyone is entitled to an opinion, but can an opinion on an interactive experience really be formed through the medium of screenshots and gameplay? I would lean towards no. Sure, you can make a judgement of whether the game is for you or not, but to outright say “this mechanic is broken” without even playing it is downright impossible! The reason? You don’t know if it’s the player you are watching or the game.

And it downright pisses me off! A lot of these same people are super dooper hyped for ‘Fallout 4’ which undoubtedly will be a GOTY contender, heck maybe even a GOTG contender! But will they be posting negative, downright derogative reviews when that inevitably gets released in a broken state (come on, it’s Bethesda, hardly an amazing track record!) I sincerely doubt it!

But I digress!

Do Some Publishers/Developers get away with more than others?

Are we just stupid?

Am I just sensitive?

Let Us Know In The Comments!

3 thoughts on “Are Gamers Pack Animals?

  1. I agree with pretty much everything in this post!

    I get strange looks from people when I tell them that Fallout 4 is going to be bought next year when the GOTY edition comes out, even after I explain why (it took 9 months for Bethesda to get FO:NV working on console).

    Yet the same people piss all over THPS for being “buggy” – very short memories mixed with “its cool to diss x title”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Humans by nature are pack animals. We have named it civilization in order to gloss over the uglier manifestations of that nature. But have no doubt, we are every bit that ugly. But that’s not what I see going on here. It’s more like a spoiled child not getting what they wanted for Christmas. You know, I’m an old gamer. I started playing games in a bowling alley, and that should tell you how long ago that was. I didn’t see a “micro computer” (what they eventually called PCs) until I was a junior in college. In that lab, the only question asked by us CS majors after a demonstration by one of our professors, was, “What’s it good for?” So when they did actually turn out to be good for something (gaming!) we were overjoyed. To this day I am amazed at what we are able to do in the name of gaming. Compared to the Pong console my parents bought (yeah, I’m that old…) every new title, not matter how flawed, is a work of art. It’s amazing. So much of the technology we have today I could only dream of as a child. But what we seem to have working in some corners of the gaming community can most kindly be called a jaded appetite. These gamers tend to be about 15 to 20 years younger than I am (I’ve done some research myself) and they just don’t understand how good they have it. Beyond that, it’s just poor behavior. As I said, the spoiled child who doesn’t get what they think they deserved for Christmas.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I think the analogy that fits best, with those particular animals is a piranha. They don’t care the reason or the message, if they smell blood they’re going to try and take a piece for themselves

    Liked by 2 people

Join in the conversation...

