#NBI2015 Talkback Challenge: Deadly Gamer Sins

Another week, another Talkback challenge, this time put forth by Joseph Skyrim! He has quite cleverly created a questionnaire using the deadly sins and transposing them into a video game context. All in an effort to get a better handle on our gaming habits, GG Joseph Skyrim, GG!

Lust – Do you enjoy games more if they have scantily clad and “interestingly proportioned” avatars? Do you like playing as one of these avatars? Why or why not?

To be honest no. There is something very unsettling about watching an uncanny valley approximation of what a human is trapeze about in a state of undress.

I will say this though, the sex scene in ‘Heavy Rain’ raised more than a giggle from me, I was literally crying as the game was trying to convince me that this was a sensual scene when in actual fact it resembled the sex scene from ‘Team America: World Police’ more.

I’m not saying that I would avoid a title that had scantily clad ladies (or men) in them, some of my favourite games have included some form of this. ‘Dead or Alive 2’ had the “jiggle” physics, ‘Bayonetta’ had flashes of nudity and a sexualised protagonist while Lara Croft had her assets (Kappa).

Gluttony – Do you have a game backlog of unfinished games but still buy new games regardless? Why or why not?

Oh my God yes! My backlog is insurmountable, and I cannot stop anticipated titles when the get released. Subscription services like Games with Gold and PS Plus are not helping matters either!

Since I started streaming my situation has improved somewhat, I am completing more games and playing more too! I’m hoping to get through the majority of the games on my consoles, however my steam library is a different matter altogether! I am a sucker for steam sales and humble bundles. As a result my library has more games than I’ll ever play on PC and many that I have little to no interest in.

Greed – Do you enjoy hand outs in a game? Have you ever opted to NOT do an action / in-game activity because the rewards were lacking? Why or why not?

Good lord yes! I am a fan of open world games and that means one thing collectibles! I have a severe case of gamer OCD, if a developer puts an icon on my minimap I will strive to collect it. This meant that through university I spent an ungodly amount of hours in GTA:IV shooting those fucking pigeons!

As I’ve gotten older, and my time has become more precious, I have found myself curbing these instincts and looking at guides to see the reward of my many hours of collecting; if it’s shit I’ll pass it by!

This has saved my ass on a number of occasions – most memorably the “collect the submarine pieces” in GTA:V – that would’ve pissed me off no end!

Sloth – Do you ever leech or AFK in a party? Do you discourage others from attempting things that you feel are difficult? Have you ever seen someone that needed help, but decided not to help them? Why or why not?

I don’t play any MMORPG so I cannot comment on the first question.

I have talked people out of plenty of things in gaming because of gaming. The most recent example of this is when I completed ‘Alien: Isolation’ – I; rather proudly, played on the hardest setting and regretted it by mission 6. A friend asked about it and I talked them out, they never did play it on that difficulty.

I have also not helped loads of team mates in action games such as Gears of War and The Last of Us; the reason being that in one life, one round types of games I don’t want to die and I will resort to creeping around carefully and NEVER take unnecessary risks. If my fallen comrade cannot get to me, I will not go them.

In any other multiplayer mode though, I’ll always try to help.

Wrath – Ever get angry at other players and yell (or TYPE IN CAPS) at them? Have you ever been so angry to stalk a person around in-game and / or in the forums? Why or why not?

Nope. It doesn’t seem like a normal thing to do! I have screamed at the ref in FIFA though and mocked friends on social media after whooping them good in games, does this count?

Envy – Ever felt jealous of players who seem to be able to complete content you can’t? Do you ever suspect they are hacking or otherwise cheating? Why or why not?

I’ve never been jealous of a player before, I am not the most gifted gamer, and I’m not very competitive either. I have played against people and thought “how the hell did he pull of that shot?”; I have also been in the “must be a cheater” frame of mind more than once!

Pride – Are you one of those people who demands grouping with other “elite” players? Do you kick players out of your team who you feel are under-performing? Why or why not?

Nope. Unfortunately I’d be the one getting kicked! The only game I’ve ever felt that I “mastered” was Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3! – Can I clan in that? 😛

2 thoughts on “#NBI2015 Talkback Challenge: Deadly Gamer Sins

  1. Yay! Thanks MrLuvvaluvva! Maybe the future iterations of Tony Hawk Pro Skater series will allow clan “races” or whatever? Would be funny with many people and collision physics though! 😛

    Like

Join in the conversation...

