Games to look forward to in 2015! Part 1

Now that we have finished looking back, it is time to look forward.

new-years

The release schedule for 2015 is chock-a-bloc with titles – from little indie gems to AAA behemoths there is literally something for everyone! In some sections of the gaming media they are already heralding 2015 as; potentially,  one of the best years for gaming – and now that many developers are leaving the previous gen behind, it’s getting more difficult to disagree with them!

I have however become quite cynical about games after witnessing so many broken launches last year that I have not pre-ordered a single title (but that’s a blog post for a different day) but the hype train has passed through my area…

…here’s a little list (with trailers videos where available) of the games that I will be giving a little tickle – and the games you should be trying – over the next 12 months.

With a burgeoning release schedule there are simply far too many games coming out this year to adequately cover in one post – so this will be a series of 2 – with a third comprising games that I feel won’t see daylight in 2015.

Enjoy the next few posts guys!

Dying Light (XO/PS4/PC) Release date: 30/01/15

This is one that I’m tentatively looking forward to, and I’m not sure why! Made by the developers of the original ‘Dead Island’ – ‘Dying Light’ mixes the open world of their debut game with the free running of ‘Mirrors Edge’ and tossed in a day/night cycle that changes up the gameplay. It looks like a winner to me!

I will await reviews before I dip my toes in Techland’s new game but I really want to play this!

Resident Evil: HD REmake (360/PS3/PS4/XO/PC)

Dear readers you know of my love for all things Resident Evil – every release fills me with an excitement that cannot be contained! I have the original Revelations to play on PS3 and that will be done in time to sample this fine-looking game!

My treasure Island game! I will never tire of this and it’s out in only a few weeks! Tres excited! I don’t need to say anymore about this at all – we’ve all played it and we’ve all be frightened by the Spencer Mansion! Now we can do it all again…in HD *girls excited scream*!

I know the trailer looks just like the NGC original so here’s a bonus comparison video!

Evolve (XO/PS4/PC) Release date: 10/02/15

Again I’m not sure why I’m as excited for this as I am – the BETA did NOT blow me away! ‘Evolve’ was very enjoyable; don’t get me wrong, but I’m not convinced of its longevity…yet!

However it is a gorgeous game that had heaps of solid gameplay (and a few niggling issues that hopefully will be sorted by launch)- but this one has the potential to be the ‘New Left 4 Dead’ and that is exciting enough to have me onboard.

Resident Evil: Revelations 2 (PS3/PS4/XO/360/PC) Release date – Episode 1: 15/02/15

MORE RESIDENT EVIL!

Featuring the return of Barry “Jill Sandwich” Burton and in a setting that brings ‘Code: Veronica’ to mind this could be a real return to form for one of my favourite franchises! And it’s episodic, with a new chapter planned everyweek after the 15/02 – a new RE game every week for a month?! Yes please! TAKE MY MONEY!

Bloodborne (PS4) Release date: 27/03/15

The spiritual successor made by the team behind ‘Dark Souls’ (not the worse Dark Souls 2) with added Gothic undertones, guns and utilising the full power of the PS4 this game looks something special!

Again I’m no mega fan of ‘Dark Souls’ but this looks incredible! It also looks a lot more forgiving than its spiritual siblings and that is a good thing in my book!

Batman: Arkham Knight (XO/PC/PS4) Release date: 02/06/15

Yes this looks like more of the same – but who cares when “the same” is a superlative action adventure game that riffs off ‘Metroid’, ‘Castlevania’ and stars the Dark Knight himself! Going by the gameplay footage Rocksteady have bottled lightning for a third time and single-handedly solved the summer games drought!

Good work Rocksteady!

Rise of the Tomb Raider (XO/360) Release date: TBC

I absolutely loved the reboot (of the already rebooted thrice) ‘Tomb Raider’ and the trailer looks exceptional (although all pre-rendered so its tentative) – I have no doubt that Crystal Dynamics will once more riff off ‘Uncharted’ and create another great game.

And c’mon who doesn’t love this new iteration of Lara Croft?

Halo 5: Guardians (XO) Release date: TBC 

Because…Halo!

I absolutely love this franchise and ‘Halo 5’ looks utterly brilliant! I am so jealous of those of you who enjoyed the recently ended BETA for the multiplayer and I hate you all (joking)! By all accounts (that I’ve heard) it was ridiculously good! It’s nice that 353 Studios are taking risks and updating the already rock solid foundations to create their own game with their own identity – Halo 4 was probably my second favourite of the series so far and that is no mean feat!

I am so excited for this game and I do not own an Xbox One!

It’s a bad situation!

What is the game you are most looking forward to this year?

Will you preorder it or have you become more sceptical since the launch of titles like AC:U and Master Chief Collection?

Tell us in the comment section below!

2 thoughts on “Games to look forward to in 2015! Part 1

Join in the conversation...

