Games To Get Your Teeth Into This Holiday Season…

cooltext1842278908

…just ignore the fatty bits.

MrJohnSherry has once more breached the void and is investigating another Christmas post! Seasons greetings.

It is that time of year, where many of us are entering the holiday period which gives us some respite from work or school and instead of spending time with family and friends, some of us opt to do something a tad bit more important; chipping away at that ever-increasing backlog of games. So, let’s get right into it, here are my top 5 games that you should be spending your time on, this holiday season.

5) Grand Theft Auto V (PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360)

GTA V

For starters we have a special of torture and crime

I am naming this one, because I know there is quite a lot of people who deliberately held off on the last gen version to wait it out, because a next-gen release was so “obvious”. I have to admit, if this wasn’t a year old title by now, it would probably take the top spot in this top 5. It really is a masterpiece, but it is not a game I will be spending much time on this holiday season. However, if you have not played it yet, you definitely should be.

4) The Crew (PC, PS4, Xbox One)

the crew

To wash that down have a sorbet of racing and high velocity action

A bit of a controversial choice, seeing as a lot of Ubisofts recent titles have been absolute mess on release, but I was always intrigued by this game, and decided to give it a chance when I realised Destiny was no longer for me. I have to say, I have been thoroughly impressed! With activities galore and an interesting story, nothing fantastic, but more than enough for a racing game – there is enough here to keep you thoroughly engrossed for the holiday season!

3) Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare (PC, PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360)

call-of-duty-advanced-warfare-wallpaper-5

On to our amouche bouche of more violence only army based…

There are going to be times this holiday season, when you and a few of your closest friends have had a few too many, and what better way to bond, than to jump online and go hunt them christmas “newbies”, in mech suits! This is definitely going to be that – too drunk to play anything meaningful, too sober to sleep game. Multiplayer gaming at it’s finest!

2) Far Cry 4 ( PC, PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360)

Far Cry 4

Our main course is a choice sir you may ride elephants into battle or be stealthy…oh that’s the same meal…

I haven’t got to spend as much time as I would like on this particular title, but what I have played, I have thoroughly enjoyed. The missions seem to be quite diverse – well as diverse as it can get in a FPS, and thanks to the massive open world, you never feel like you are being funneled one way to tackle a particular mission. You could go stealth with your bow and arrow, or let hell break loose and charge in on elephant back with a AK47. The world of Kyrat is absolutely gorgeous too, and Pagan Min (although doesn’t get enough screen time as I would hope) is a superb antagonist! This is definitely on my to do list this holiday season.

1) The Last Of Us (PS4, PS3)

Image

And for Desert – our piece de resistance

I know a lot of people jumped ship from Xbox 360, to the Playstation 4, and as a result may have missed out on thee best game of the last generation – in my opinion of course. I think I have run out of superlatives to describe this game, but it is a must have if you own a PS4! I have played through this game, 3 to 4 times across consoles; and I know, come Christmas Day, I will be sitting down to spend some valuable time with Joel and Ellie once more.

Honorable mention; There is a game I feel could be very good to run through this season, but as I have not directly played it, I thought it would be best not to include it in my Top 5. Having watched multiple streams and read countless reviews, it looks as though if you are a RPG fan, Dragon Age : Inquisition is definitely worth your time. With the average first play-through coming in at a staggering 80-100 hours, there is certainly enough there to make it worth your while!

What game will you be playing this Christmas Day?

Let us know in the comment section below!

Christmas-Garland

One thought on “Games To Get Your Teeth Into This Holiday Season…

Join in the conversation...

